Inception

And why the Heller Illustrious kit?

All the models that I will build are somehow connected with family history.  With the Armstrong Whitworth Albemarle completed (my wife’s uncle), I now return to my mother-in-law’s wartime boyfriend, Tony Wray, who was an observer on a Fairey Swordfish during the Fleet Air Arm’s raid on the Italian port of Taranto on November 11, 1940.  Tony was the subject of my first project when I built his Swordfish in 1/72.

Tony died on January 10, 1941 during a blistering Stuka attack on his carrier, HMS Illustrious. The Illustrious was covering a convoy bound for Malta and after the attack, limped into Malta for repairs.  Illustrious subsequently spent the rest of the year under repairs in Norfolk, Virginia.

So, as a project, I decided to do the Illustrious as she was in November 1940.

You would think that after two planes, I might want to apply what I learned and build another plane. But no, back to newbie status with a ship model.  I wonder if this will give me grief?

Kit choices weren’t great and I settled on the Heller Illustrious 1/400 kit.  Heller is a French company and this kit was produced in the 1970’s so it would need considerable updating.  In the years hence, kit manufacturers have settled on 1/350 and 1/700 as the primary scales.  As such, there is a limited aftermarket of 1/400 accessories and updates  – notably from White Ensign Models and L’Arsenal.

I will need to do some research.

This entry was posted in Kit Building and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment