Fool’s Errand?

At this point in the project, i realize I have my injection-molded styrene cut out for me (well, actually, I will have to do the cutting up of the hull and deck in order to replicate the 1940 Illustrious). Why bother? Why not build the kit out-of-the-box and focus on painting and the seascape?  Certainly my family wouldn’t know that the searchlight platforms are shaped incorrectly in all three dimensions. Or that the portholes are in the wrong locations. Or some of the ship’s boat decks are incorrectly sited.

I’ve reflected on this and come to these observations:

  • Other modellers have set the bar high for accurate renditions of their prototypes (i.e. the real object) and such modellers publish their results to acclaim. As I’m writing this blog for anyone to encounter, I should put my effort consistent with my public mouth.
  • I’ve always been inclined towards deferred gratification so spending a lot of time on a project is agreeable provided the end result is worthy of the effort expended.
  • Once started down the road of fidelity, you can’t really stop. Reshape the searchlight platforms but not relocate the portholes?  This seems hypocritical – like only obeying some traffic laws.

I’m also iconoclastic. Yes, the projects are related to my family but I’m glad they are of subjects not well-covered by kits and other modellers (viz the Armstrong Whitworth Albemarle project and the forthcoming USS Shiloh, a Casco class Civil War monitor). If my family had some connection to Mustangs or Spitfires, I’m not sure my energy would be there to try and build these iconic airplanes knowing that there were superlative examples done by much better modellers.

I enjoy the research into less well-covered subjects. I enjoy publishing my experiences knowing that I might be able to help others doing similar subjects.  Let’s hope I can finish this in less time than the Albemarle.

OK, back to work.

This entry was posted in Kit Building and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment